Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

Although not always a top priority for developers / project managers it is good practice to create web applications, which are accessible for people with visual, auditory or physical limitations. This becomes more and more important, because many customers are aware of this problem, especially the public sector.
But how to achieve this? In different countries there are different standards:

But what about international applications?

There is a standard out there at the W3C, called Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

While the previous version 1.0 was limited for classic websites, not allowing JavaScript, version 2.0 arrived in the Web 2.0.

This is achieved by a more abstract approach that is language agnostic, allowing (X)HTML, JavaScript, Flash, PDF and so on.
It is based on four principles:

  • perceivable,
  • operable,
  • understandable and
  • robust,

12 guidelines and 61 criteria, which can be tested with three levels of conformance.

Short URL for this post: https://blog.oio.de/O4hWD
This entry was posted in Java Web Frameworks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.